Season of Lent

We enter now into the 40 days of Lent on this Ash Wednesday.  We gather for worship this evening at 7 p.m.  Hear the wisdom of Rowan Williams, former Archbishop of Canterbury: 

"It's not about feeling gloomy for forty days . . . it's about preparing for that great climax which is Easter—new life bursting through death. And as we prepare ourselves for Easter during these days, by prayer and self-denial, what motivates us and what fills the horizon is not self-denial as an end in itself but trying to sweep and clean the room of our own minds and hearts so that the new life really may have room to come in and take over and transform us at Easter."

This season of Lent, we are exploring the practice of keeping Sabbath. Lent is a time to set a new rhythm for our lives, and we invite you to discover the joy of practicing Sabbath with our community. Each week, we will learn about and experience different aspects of Sabbath, hoping to glean what God intends for us. Join us on Sundays and Wednesdays in the weeks to come as we practice this life-giving pattern of Sabbath together:

Time to Pause       Sunday, February 14 & Wednesday, February 17    
Time to Celebrate Sunday, February 21 & Wednesday, February 24  
Time to Rest         Sunday, February 28 & Wednesday, March 2
Time to Play         Sunday, March 6 & Wednesday, March 9       
Time to Liberate   Sunday, March 13 & Wednesday, March 16